ROW80 – Round 1 Goals

ROW80 LogoA new year, and a new round for A Round of Words in 80 Days, “the writing challenge that knows you have a life.”

Last year’s Round 4 was my first time with ROW80. At first I accomplished good things, then I switched up my goals several weeks in, and I still accomplished good things. Then I… didn’t. I stopped for no good reason. This year I’ll do better.

A lot has happened since then. I had to put a beloved cat to sleep the day after Christmas after he suffered a stroke on Christmas Eve.  My spouse and I rented and used a jackhammer for the first time and broke up an annoyingly angled walkway in preparation for building a catio. And I finally started ripping out the carpet in the large bedroom.

My long-term goal for writing this year is to complete, with edits, a novel and submit for publication. To that end, my Round 1 goals for A Round of Words in 80 Days are simple:

  1. Write at least 500 new words on my supernatural thriller novel, In the Flesh, each weekday. Weekends are for family (which also means I may not update on Sundays).
  2. Get some exercise every day.
  3. Participate in life with other humans.
  4. Finish this round and accomplish my goals.

As we move on in Round 1 I will update my progress each Wednesday, and sometimes Sundays when I remember and have time. Other blog posts will have to do with things going on around me in real life and epiphanies in my novel, which I’m ‘pantsing.’ That is, writing by the seat of my pants, without an outlined plot.

Wish me luck. Ready? Set? Go!

Click here to see what other ROWers are doing!

3 thoughts on “ROW80 – Round 1 Goals

  1. Hello, Athan! I’m so sorry to hear about your poor cat. I’ve had to say goodbye to a cat more times than I care to remember, and it’s always very sad. They can never be replaced, but there are always more cats out there who need our love, right?

    Your goals look very achievable, which is fantastic! I’m positive you’ll reach them, and any others you add along the way. Just remember: start slow, and add slow, so you won’t be overwhelmed. I think you have that pretty much down, though. 😀

    Like

    1. Thank you for the condolences, Tammy. We just received a sympathy card today with a handwritten note from the veterinarian who helped Riley cross over. It opened up the hurt again, but the personal note was greatly appreciated. We have other cats and a dog who still need our attention and love, though we will always love and miss Riley.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

